I’m back

I have a tendency to be a bit of a perfectionist.

If my mom is reading this, she probably just laughed, because I am messy (although I like to view it as organized chaos; I know exactly where everything is!) yet I have my systems.

I think that there are different types of perfectionism, and mine is that often I’ll hold back if I feel I can’t do it just right and how I want it to be.  That has been affecting my writing a lot, and I need to stop and press through it anyways, and write the words to just get them out and in plain sight. In speech often times I’ll bumble and fumble my way along, painfully aware of how my words are stuttering or my brain decides it can’t remember words, and that has translated to my writing recently. I stopped writing, got discouraged and overwhelmed, could only see cliches, the wheels ground to a halt, and the oiled machine got rusted.

Yet I think I’m learning how to fix that; I need to write more. About whatever comes through, to just run with it and see what grows.  Practice.

So here I am saying to expect more posts, don’t expect perfection, and excuse my bumbles, because there will probably be many, but hopefully it will lead to growth. ❤

-grace

Leave a Reply

